Thursday, March 08, 2012

Costa Rica, officially the Republic of Costa Rica, is a country in Central America that has enjoyed a long period of peace since its 1948 civil war. Because of its natural beauty and political stability, it is nicknamed the "Switzerland of Latin America".

Over four million people live in Costa Rica; the capital is San José. Its currency is the colón. The President is Laura Chinchilla, the first woman elected president of this country. She was elected in 2010 and will finish her term in 2014.

The average temperature is 25 °C (77 °F) in San José, and 28 °C (82 °F) in the coastal areas. There are only two distinctive seasons during the year: the dry season, which starts in December and ends in April, and the rainy season, which starts in May and ends in November.

The official language of Costa Rica is Spanish. Costa Rica has had no army since December 1, 1948. Instead of spending money on the military, the government spends money on schools and education.

There are many national parks in Costa Rica, including Manuel Antonio National Park and others.

Publicado por chofi08 @ 11:20 AM
Comentarios (0)  | Enviar